After the final round of Mythic Championship IV Barcelona, Magic: the Gathering Hall of Famer and Magic Pro League member Paulo Vitor Damo da Rosa announced that he would be leaving ChannelFireball after the tournament. He said he will continue playing professional Magic but will no longer play or write for ChannelFireball.

PVDDR announces his departure on Twitter.

Damo da Rosa has written for ChannelFireball for the last 10 years. He was one of the founding members of Team ChannelFireball, which came together around Worlds 2010 in Chiba, Japan. That began the era of Magic super teams dominating the Pro Tour, which continues to this day.

The original Team ChannelFireball. From the left: Brian Kibler, Lucas Blohon, Owen Turtenwald, Brad Nelson, Conley Woods, Josh Utter-Leyton, Matt Nass, Luis Scott-Vargas, Shuhei Nakamura, and Yuuya Watanabe. Photo by Wizards of the Coast.

Outside of ChannelFireball, Damo da Rosa is a member of the inaugural year of the Magic Pro League, an instructor at Spikes Academy and is one of the co-hosts of the Magic podcast Pro Points. His fellow Pro Points co-host, Magic Pro League and Team ChannelFireball member Mike Sigrist, also announced that he was leaving ChannelFireball after the conclusion of Mythic Championship IV Barcelona.

Damo da Rosa is one of the best players in Magic history. He has 12 Pro Tour Top 8s, including wins at PT San Juan in 2010 and at PT Hour of Devastation in 2017, and was the 2016–17 Player of the Year. He was elected to the Hall of Fame in 2012 alongside Kenji Tsumura, Masashi Oiso, and Patrick Chapin.

Don't Miss Out!

Sign up for the Hipsters Newsletter for weekly updates.